A team focused on
value creation

Our investment strategy

We make equity investments between €5 million and €100 million in French small and mid-cap businesses, either as a majority or control minority shareholder.

Abénex works closely with businesses, gaining a deep understanding of the environment in which a company operates to identify a value-creation plan that will achieve the portfolio company’s long-term strategic objectives.

We are focused on helping companies reach their next stage of growth through operational improvements and strategic initiatives. This includes the completion and integration of add-on acquisitions both in France and abroad.

We employ an analytical methodology and pragmatic investment process that closely aligns us with the objectives of management teams.

Learn more about our companies

We have developed specific know-how to address the broad range of issues faced by the entrepreneurs and management we partner with, especially with respect to digitalisation, structuring financial and operational KPIs, helping firms to expand internationally and providing support for operational and strategic initiatives.

Abénex’s portfolio companies have achieved average sales growth of 36% (2017-2019B) and an average EBITDA margin of 14% (2018).

Abénex has provided key value-add support to its portfolio companies having completed over 140 add-on acquisitions since inception.

Solid expertise

As a pioneer in the French private equity market, Abénex has developed significant experience through executing over 200 transactions in the healthcare, consumer, services and technology sectors.

Our multi-disciplinary team bring valuable experience from a range of complementary backgrounds. Our professionals have worked at both SMEs and large corporations, in industries such as media and IT, have held operational roles in general management, finance and sales, and also worked in professional services such as strategy consulting, private equity, M&A, corporate banking and audit.

We also have a large network of Industrial Partners who work alongside us during the investment and post-transaction phase to support operational initiatives and assist management in a wide range of ways depending on the needs of the company.

Ability to adapt to varied deal dynamics

Abénex has been a leading investor in small and mid-cap businesses across France and Europe for over 25 years.

Abénex has the knowledge and experience to participate in a wide range of transaction types and complex situations, including large company spin-outs, public-to-private deals and management buy-ins.

Our team is used to overcoming barriers and working around constraints at an early stage. We are pragmatic and place great importance on executing tailored “made-to-measure” investment structures that address the needs of all stakeholders.

Working hand in hand with entrepreneurs

The Abénex team became an independent firm through an LBO, just like the management teams we support.

Our team members personally invest in every deal, thus ensuring that our interests are fully aligned with those of the management teams.

Many of our former entrepreneurs are now investors in our funds, a clear testament to the success of our initial partnership.

Trusted by our Limited Partners

Abénex has prudently increased the size of its funds over time.

Our most recent flagship fund, Abénex V, was oversubscribed and closed €425 million of capital commitments. Abénex is supported by a high-quality repeat investor base, including pension funds, family offices, fund of funds, insurance companies and financial institutions from across Europe and North America.

Une équipe focalisée sur la
création de valeur

Notre stratégie d'investissement

Nous investissons, en minoritaire ou majoritaire, de 10 à 100 millions d'euros au sein de PMEs et ETIs françaises et européennes aux côtés de leurs équipes.

Notre approche est au plus près du terrain et du quotidien des sociétés avec une forte implication de nos équipes Investissement et opérationnelle.

Nous sommes un fonds de croissance, orienté vers des projets d’amélioration opérationnelle et de développement y compris par la réalisation et l’intégration de croissances externes en France et à l’international.

Nous appliquons une méthodologie d’analyse et des processus d’investissement pragmatiques en ligne avec les préoccupations des entrepreneurs et des équipes de management.

Découvrez nos entreprises

Nous avons développé des savoir-faire spécifiques afin de répondre aux enjeux variés des entrepreneurs que nous accompagnons (notamment sur les sujets de transformation digitale, de structuration des indicateurs de performance financière et opérationnelle, d’assistance au développement à l’international, d’accompagnement dans la structuration des opérations etc.)

Depuis 2008, les entreprises où Abénex a investi ont ainsi crû de 7% en moyenne environ en chiffre d’affaires et en EBITDA pendant leur période de détention.

Abénex a soutenuet accompagné ses entreprises dans la réalisation de plus de 130 opérations de croissance externe.

De solides expertises

Pionnier du secteur en France, Abénex dispose d’une expérience bâtie au travers de près de 200 opérations réalisées dans les secteurs de l’industrie, des services, du B2B, de la distribution, de la construction, et de la santé / pharma.

Notre équipe est polyvalente et issue de métiers variés que ce soit en PMEs ou dans des Grands Groupes, dans des secteurs divers tels que media ou IT, dans des métiers opérationnels de direction générale, financière ou commerciale, ou de prestations de services tels que conseil en stratégie, capital-risque, fusions et acquisitions, financement et audit.

Nous disposons également d’un large réseau d’experts construit notamment autour de nos partenaires historiques et intervenant à nos côtés en phase d’investissement et post-transaction à la demande des dirigeants de nos participations.

Intervenir dans toutes les situations de haut de bilan

Abénex est acteur reconnu de l’écosystème du small et mid cap français et européen depuis plus de 25 ans.

Abénex dispose des compétences pour intervenir sur tous les types d’opérations quel que soit leur niveau de complexité (spin-off de Groupes, public-to-private, management-buy-in, capital development…).

Habituée à lever les barrières et intégrer les contraintes en amont, l’équipe est pragmatique et attache une grande importance à structurer des opérations optimisées et « sur-mesure» répondant aux enjeux des parties-prenantes.

Engagés aux côtés des entrepreneurs dans une logique de proximité et de partenariat

L’équipe Abénex a pris son indépendance en structurant un LBO, à l’instar des équipes de Management qu’elle accompagne.

Les membres de l’équipe Abénex investissent à titre personnel dans chacune des opérations pour un parfait alignement des intérêts avec les dirigeants des sociétés du portefeuille.

Preuve du succès de nos collaborations passées, plusieurs de nos partenaires entrepreneurs historiques ont également investis dans nos fonds.

La confiance de ses investisseurs

Abénex a régulièrement augmenté la taille de ses fonds

Sursouscrit sur la levée de son dernier fonds à 425 m€, Abénex s’appuie sur un socle d’investisseurs récurrents et un mix de fonds de pension, de familles d’entrepreneurs et d’investisseurs professionnels et institutionnels tous principalement européens et nord-américains.